On My Loom

16705462393_e80d94836c_bLike many people, I tend to have more than one knitting project going at one time. I have tried to overcome this habit because it makes me CRAZY! I can’t stand having unfinished things laying about, taunting me, calling me names. A little while ago I thought I had won. I finished up about five different things all at once and vowed to never, ever do it again. The problem is focusing. I get bored easily. I get distracted by new yarn and new patterns. The weather changes and suddenly the warm and wooly sweater I just started begins to seem somehow….hot.

Which brings me to today’s topic: What’s on my loom? Well, I’ll tell you. Last month I started a new sweater. I love sweaters. They are the reason I knit, actually. Everything I have made and will make is in some way contributing to any and all future sweaters I may make. Every technique I learn, every new stitch, all of it is done with the thought, “I could do this on a sweater!” or “Dang, this would be amazing in sweater form!”

I have only completed two sweaters thus far in my knitting career and I can tell you with a straight face: sometimes I take them out and just look at them and marvel at the fact that I made them. I imagine this is what people with children do when their child is sleeping. This is what I do when my sweaters are sleeping, er, laying around being sweaters. Anyhoo, I started a new sweater last month when here in upstate NY it was still freezing and snowing. It felt right to get out the wool and start something new.

16613795013_b37e831321_bI was lucky to find some Noro Cyochin at a tremendous discount so I bought enough to cover the Statue of Liberty. And since I like stripes I decided to switch skeins every other row.

17157142225_3e3eed28be_bSee how mesmerizing that is?

I’m using a very basic needle pattern as a guide. This is the first time I am venturing out on my own and doing my own thing. I don’t think I can screw up too badly with nothing but stockinette stitch, but you never know. I’m done with the back piece and that seemed like a good place to stop. For now.

You see….it got warm. Spring finally decided to happen and having five pounds of wool on my lap was starting to lose its charm. And then I got the summer issues of Interweave Knits and Creative Knits and they were full of summery things made of cotton and linen. Not a sheep in sight. And so I started thinking…perhaps I need to be making something I can actually wear this summer. Perhaps I need to order more yarn in pretty colors and lighter fibers. Perhaps I need to put my wool aside for a little while and focus on something a little less sweaty.

17347083376_07ee69cb1d_bEnter Knit Picks Dishie. 100% cotton. It feels quite lovely. It’s been a while since I knit with cotton but it’s coming back to me and now I’m remembering that I actually like cotton. As long as the pattern I’m working on also likes cotton.

17202549508_711438c709_bSo far, Manitou seems to like cotton. This is a fun shawl comprised of wedges and I’m cruising right along. Of course, I had to start this scarf three times before I finally started paying attention and got the pattern right. But now it’s going swimmingly.

So that’s what’s on my loom(s) these days. I’ve already got my next pattern picked out and have already purchased the (cotton) yarn. It’s going to be a sweater. A summer sweater.

2 thoughts on “On My Loom

Leave a Reply

