Loom Knit Infinity Scarf of Many Colors

16270884270_59607b707a_b

Boy howdy, it’s been a long time since I last blogged! I really have no excuse other than… life. Ya know? That’s not to say that I haven’t been knitting up a storm. I have! Well, I suppose at the pace I knit it’s more like a light, steady rain. I’m currently working on this year’s batch of Christmas gifts (a zillion pairs of fingerless mitts), which I will blog about shortly, but first I wanted to talk about this crazy colorful infinity scarf that I made earlier in the year.

I saw a picture on Pinterest of a colorful knit done in a cross stitch kind of pattern and I knew I needed to do something similar. And this is what I came up with. Since then it’s been rather popular on Pinterest and a few months ago Folt Bolt featured it on FaceBook. At this time it has over 8,000 views on Ravelry, which is a ton in a my little world.

16458320185_f64ed739cf_b

The most often asked question is, “Is there a pattern?” Well, no. There isn’t. That’s because you really don’t need one. It’s just one stitch knit until the desired length is reached. Sew the ends together and call it done. That’s it! But I realize that some people like step by step instructions so here you go.

16208274408_7e2aef2889_b

What you will need:

Loom: I used the Tadpole loom by Authentic Knitting Board.

Yarn: This is the crucial part. This scarf would be very ho-hum without this yarn. Ready for it? I used 2 skeins of Misty Alpaca Hand Knit Chunky in Pico. Allow me to preach the virtues of this yarn for a moment…. THIS YARN IS HEAVEN ON THIS EARTH! It’s softer than any baby’s bottom. It’s more colorful than upstate NY in the Autumn. It is like knitting with butter coated angels dipped in sugar while singing Hallelujah. (The angels are singing. Not you).

The Stitch: This is a double knit stitch called the Figure 8. It creates a lovely, squishy, reversible double knit which is cross stitched on one side and stockinette on the other (see photo above). You can see how to do this stitch HERE. They call it a cast on but all you do is continue in the same manner for the entire piece.

  • Cast on all the pegs. This will give you the proper width for your scarf.
  • Knit until the length measures about 50.”
  • Bind off.
  • Join ends together.
  • Place around neck, twist and double it up.
  • Walk around like the goddess you are and try to act cool when total strangers stop you on the street to ask about your magical infinity scarf.

16208295978_32d3ed5a41_b

And that’s it. Really.

Kind of anticlimactic, huh?

23041902306_fd19b7c361_b23054309962_0712677c78_b

To see my Ravelry page on this scarf go HERE.

9 thoughts on “Loom Knit Infinity Scarf of Many Colors

  1. Thanks for sharing your process on converting from a frustrated knitter to a loom knitter! I hear ya. LOVE the look of knitting. I can crochet like a speed demon but hate the look. Tried knitting and just can’t get the hang of it, yet the yarns are calling me. I saw your blog post on this awhile back and just today finally picked up a starter loom at Michaels and am now perusing some how-to videos. Your pics are an inspiration of beauty.

    Like

  2. This is another refined workmanship that I will not lose!
    It looks like an intricate work, but it isn’t
    and the result is simply gorgeous!!!
    I just ordered a loom like this and as soon as it arrives
    I must make this scarf. And something else too…
    I’m thinking about the strips for a new mile-a-minute blanket.
    Congratulations Nancy for your creativity!
    And thanks for your kindness in sharing this beauty ❤

    Like

  3. Hi Nancy, love the way this turned out and I’m thinking the pattern would make an excellent blanket or throw. From your two skeins, was the final size about 6″ x 50″ then? Just trying to figure out square footage. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

