Linen stitching the day away

21495101533_00804d72bc_z

I tend to have a bit of an obsessive personality. When I find something I like I like A LOT of it. This is true whether it’s shoes, food and yes, anything yarn related. The past few months I have been in love with the linen stitch. It’s a plucky little stitch which creates a wonderful dense, nubby fabric which is especially lovely when knit with a colorful yarn.

22651080023_01a75258c2_z

A few months ago I made myself a linen knit cowl. I didn’t use a pattern. It’s just a tube knit in the round on the All in One loom. I used a heavy worsted weight yarn by Fleece Artist called Jana in the colorway Brew. I LOVE this yarn and tend to hoard it since I can only find it from a wonderful seller I visit at a few different craft shows.

23278194635_f36615d72e_z

The linen stitch is knit in multiples of two which makes this a very versatile stitch. The only thing to remember is that the edges will curl unless you do a few rows of garter or seed at the beginning. As you can see in the photo above I did four rows of seed stitch which complimented the linen stitch nicely.

23278220685_f403019ac5_z

There are several ways to knit the linen stitch on the loom and they are all very easy, it’s just a matter of preference. I did mine with a row of regular knit stitches in between each linen row. It seemed to define the stitch a little better with this particular yarn. However, there are a few ways to achieve essentially the same look. Just this morning Kimberly Carrigan posted a new video in the GoodKnitKisses Loom Knit & Craft Club on FaceBook that she made of her own technique for the linen stitch I think it’s quite brilliant. I will definitely be trying this version out on my next linen stitch project! See it here!

23018320815_6ec73fd00d_z This is my completed cowl. A few things that I would do differently the next time (and there WILL be a next time).

  1. I would use all the pegs on the All in One loom (with the five peg spacers in). I only cast on 96 stitches and it’s just a tiny, tiny bit too snug. It’s not uncomfortable but adding those few more stitches would make all the difference.
  2. I made this cowl too long. As you can see in the photos I have to fold it in to make it wearable. I just got in the zone, what can I say? I was on a knitting high and just kept going and going. I would stop at around 9″ or 10″ the next time.

23029443981_74b8bfd9de_b

All in all I am very pleased with my cowl. I wear it a lot. It’s wind proof and super warm and makes me giddy when I look at it.

You can see my Ravelry entry on this cowl HERE.

I’ve been using the linen stitch to make some fingerless mitts as well and will share them with you all soon. Until then, loom on!

2 thoughts on “Linen stitching the day away

Leave a Reply

